Kid Lit: Gertrude and Toby’s Friday Adventure

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  Gertrude and Toby’s Friday Adventure by Shari Tharp Published on December 5, 2015. Goodreads Summary: Gertrude the goat and her best friend Toby the tortoise are adventurers. No sitting around on the boring farm for them! They love to explore, […]

Continue Reading

The love of a little boy…

Since Christopher has been born, I have wished for him to be older. Every day is better than the last in my mind because he’s growing up. I don’t particularly like babies or toddlers. I prefer older children. Ones you can actually have conversation with. Young people you can reason with. So as Christopher has […]

Continue Reading

Kid Lit: Good Morning, Superman!

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  Good Morning, Superman! by Michael Dahl To be published on March 1, 2017. Goodreads Summary: Look, up in the sky! It’s a bird. It’s a plane. It’s the . . . SUN! When morning comes, a young boy must prepare […]

Continue Reading

Juvenile Pile: Inspector Flytrap and secret agents

We’ve been having many reading parties in our house over the last couple of weeks. Christopher has been doing a considerable amount of independent reading, but we’re still reading aloud. Here’re some books we’ve read recently. Spy Guy by Jessica Young I read this book to Christopher. It’s a book we randomly selected off of the […]

Continue Reading

Kid Lit: Sam Sorts

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  Sam Sorts by Marthe Jocelyn To be published on February 14, 2017. Goodreads Summary: Marthe Jocelyn is back with another clever concept book to follow Hannah’s Collections, Ones and Twos and Where Do You Look? This time, she tackles counting and […]

Continue Reading

Kid Lit Blog Hop: Count Your Chickens

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  Count Your Chickens by Jo Ellen Bogart To be published on February 7, 2017. Goodreads Summary: For fans of Richard Scarry, a cute-as-a-button picture book featuring dozens of chickens as they set out for the county fair! Chickens, chickens everywhere […]

Continue Reading

Book Review: Wolfie and Fly (Chapter Book)

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  Wolfie & Fly by Cary Fagan Published on January 10, 2017. Goodreads Summary: A classic story of imagination, friendship, adventure and speeding through the ocean in a cardboard box. For fans of Ivy & Bean, Judy Moody or Nate the […]

Continue Reading

Great Reads from December 2016

I am still behind on writing reviews, but here are some of the 4- and 5-star books I’ve read recently. Click on the book title to open my full review from Opinionated Book Lover. Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult Ruth, a nurse, begins a routine checkup on a newborn, only to be told a few […]

Continue Reading

Kid Lit: Little Blue Chair

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  Little Blue Chair by Cary Fagan To be published on January 24, 2017. Goodreads Summary: A sweet, whimsical tale that chronicles the journey of a chair as it changes hands and uses. Perfect for fans of The Good Little Book, […]

Continue Reading